Ireland: Day 13 (The Cliffs of Insanity)

After our epic climb of Skellig Michael on Sunday, we drove to Dingle, arriving around dinnertime. When I woke up Monday morning, I just didn’t feel like running. Instead, we drove around the Dingle Peninsula, then headed north to Doolin for the night.

It rained pretty much the whole day, and I was tired, so I never made it out to run. I thought about it Tuesday morning, but our B&B was off a busy road that not only had no sidewalks–it had no shoulder to speak of. I’d seen some people walking the day before, but I wasn’t super excited about tackling that. Plus, the sun was trying to peek out, and we wanted to visit the Cliffs of Moher (“more”) while the sky was relatively clear.

The Cliffs of Moher (Aillte an Mhothair) look out over the Atlantic Ocean from County Clare. From the visitors’ center, paths travel to the left (south) and right, with O’Brien’s Tower sitting on the northern section. Actually the Cliffs as a whole cover eight kilometers of coastline; we only walked a portion of them, starting with the south section. While it wasn’t anything on the scale of Skellig Michael, it was a little bit of a hike.

This is where the Cliffs of Insanity bit comes in.

From the southern path looking north, you see the sheer cliff face with kind of a rock sentry sticking up out of the water slightly off the coastline.

The structure in the distance is O’Brien’s Tower; the visitors’ center, where we started, sort of in the middle between the tower and where I took this picture.

Fans of The Princess Bride have seen these Cliffs before:

This, folks, means that in the span of 36 hours, we’ve stood on locations from two iconic films. Or at least iconic in my house.

I haven’t run since Saturday, but I’ve walked and hiked and climbed. Yeah, I’ve sat in the car too, but even on driving days I managed more than 13,000 steps–it’s not like I was lazy. We fly home Wednesday so it will probably be Thursday before I unpack my running shoes and tackle the Austin heat once again, but I’m hopeful it won’t be too difficult to get back into the swing of things.

Thanks for coming along with me on my travels!

