Ireland, Day Two (Dublin)

Good thing I went for my run Thursday night. Because I slept until 9:30 Friday morning. 

After breakfast brunch, we crossed the Ha’penny Bridge over the River Liffey and headed to the National Museum of Archaeology, near Trinity College. We decided to start at the top and work our way down. About 30 minutes into our exploration of the Vikings in Ireland, at the same time I walked through a doorway, an alarm sounded. I looked around with an “I didn’t do it” expression (B said later he yanked on a pair of headphones accompanying an exhibit to untangle them when the alarm sounded, and he had similar thoughts). Then a museum worker appeared and politely ushered us out with, “Fire alarm, please make your way to the exit.” The alarm went quiet, but the ushering-out continued. This particular exit deposited us in a courtyard on the side of the building–no sirens, no fire brigade. Many people walked back around to the front entrance, but we decided to come back later. It’s a free museum, so it’s not like we had to recoup admission costs or anything. 

Down the block and around the corner is the National Gallery, home of Picasso, Monet, and Rembrandt. It’s free also, except for the special exhibit on Vermeer. But a lot of remodeling was going on and entire wings of the museum were inaccessible. We found two Rembrandts and sped by a lot of other paintings. Then it was back to the archaeology museum. 


On the way back to the hotel, we crossed the Millennium Bridge and wandered in and out of some of the Henry Street shops. But I didn’t even run and by dinner time I’d accumulated 19k steps, with the search for dinner still ahead of us. 

Saturday it’s my birthday and we’re off to Kildare (via a rented car I get to drive) and the race!

2 thoughts on “Ireland, Day Two (Dublin)

Comments are closed.