It’s time

Three hundred and sixty-two days ago I missed my Army Ten-Miler goal by 30 seconds.

I’m still a little bitter about that.

Later this morning, I leave for Washington D.C. for this year’s race. And on Sunday, I hope to redeem myself.

But it won’t be without challenges. Although it looks like Hurricane Matthew will stay further south, the forecast puts race-day temperatures in the 50s, easily ten degrees warmer than it’s been the previous three years. Not my favorite.

Still, I have to remind myself that no matter what happens on Sunday, I’m just proud to be able to run it through the streets of D.C., past awe-inspiring national memorials and the center of government, surrounded by amazing friends, wounded servicemen and women, and people running on behalf of someone who can’t. My personal performance is only a small part of why I run this race.

img_46381

One thought on “It’s time

Comments are closed.