By the numbers

Oh hey, another Saturday morning route with complicated twists and turns. shenanigans

Almost everyone else was taking a down week, running no more than about eight miles. But we wanted one more double-digit run before the 3M half marathon January 24 and our options were limited because of next week’s 10K race. So we made our own schedule and headed out for 12.

By my count, this morning we ran through three separate neighborhoods, on four main roads and three miles of the Brushy Creek trail. Just over a mile was in the dark, and I felt raindrops for another mile. We stopped for water six times, hiked around a tree that had fallen across the trail, and climbed approximately eight hills.

IMG_2425[1]

We questioned our sanity (“Why the hell do we keep doing this??”) and lobbed curse words more times than I could count. I think I used half a tube of chapstick and had to hit my asthma inhaler once.

The temperature was in the 40s–by the end, my cheeks felt numb yet my shirt was damp at the crooks of my elbows and my ponytail dripped with sweat. Our pace was slow and wildly inconsistent, but the last mile was our fastest of the 12.

And now I’ll just sit here on the couch the rest of the day.

tired dog

 

2 thoughts on “By the numbers

Comments are closed.