“It’s not the years, honey. It’s the mileage.”

Friday morning I packed up my classroom and left for the summer.

The_Last_Crusade_1989_Professor_Indiana_Jones_teaching_class

But I didn’t have to sneak out the window like Indy.

This morning I met two running buddies near my house. They’re doing the Austin Distance Challenge this fall and are probably going to train together with a different coach and group than before–one has been running with them for a while, and the other wanted a test run, so to speak. I was just tagging along to run with my friends.

indianajones

And tag along I did.

The sun was already up (and the humidity hovered around 90%) as I drove the three minutes from my house to the meeting spot. We could choose between a six-mile route or an eight-mile. We chose six.

you-chose-mentors-online-wisely

Usually on Saturday mornings, the first mile sucks because my muscles struggle to figure out what they’re supposed to be doing, but by the second mile I’ve sort of figured out a rhythm. Today, the first mile sucked and the second wasn’t any kind of improvement. The sun and humidity made the air feel like my bathroom after a hot shower–it sucked the energy right out of my body.

By the time we reached the halfway point, I was dragging. By four miles, I had run out of water unless you count what dripped from my ponytail. Around five, my IT band started to feel a little funky (noooooooo!) and I walked a little. I was hot and tired and I could not wait to be done.

nazi-candle-indiana-jones-04

I felt kinda like this.

But I finished and didn’t melt or spontaneously combust. I had pretty much sweated out all the water in my body, however. After I downed an entire bottle of water I started to feel better.

Indiana-Jones

“The true Grail will bring you life, the false Grail will take it from you.”

They’d saved us smoothies and coffee, and everyone was really nice and welcoming. I have to say I was surprised they’d only set out one Gatorade cooler for six miles (there was a second for the eight-mile route) though. I carried my water bottle, but it wasn’t enough and I had no way to refill it. I guess I’ve gotten spoiled!

My legs were tired and my ponytail dripped all over my car during the drive home. After I rode off into the sunset foam-rolled and took a shower, I felt nearly human again

Successful ending

Successful ending

One thought on ““It’s not the years, honey. It’s the mileage.”

Comments are closed.