I can’t catch a break

So I finally got off the recurring injury train and returned to a semi-normal running schedule to finish out the races I’d signed up to run before I got hurt. One more to go this weekend–the Capitol 10K.

Naturally that means a few days ago I developed some kind of respiratory thing.

Spring in Austin is allergy season, although I’m normally not affected by pollen and stuff in the air. But this year it has been more pollen-y than usual–even my car (in the garage) is covered with a green sheen. My asthmatic lungs haven’t been too excited about that, but I was doing okay with the inhaler. Until the smoke from Mexico blew north. By Friday night I was coughing like a two-pack-a-day smoker.

I ran for about 20 minutes this morning just to see how well I’d be able to breathe for the race tomorrow, and I managed to make the short loop without respiratory distress. I should be able to muddle through the10K. It’s a great race and I’d be disappointed if I couldn’t make it.

Huge thanks to my friend S who picked up our race stuff at the expo yesterday! And good stuff was to be had, that’s for sure.

IMG_0544This year the lime-green race shirt is a technical tee, which is new and exciting. The grey shirt is an extra freebie–one of the car dealerships prints them and gives them away, but you gotta be fast because they’re gone quickly. S was there early and snagged one for each of us! Plus the HEB grocery bag had chap stick, a packet of wildflower seeds, and an ice pack thing. Which I need after the Great Chemical Burn of 2014. So yay!

This is my last race for a while, so I’m looking forward to making it a good one.

One thought on “I can’t catch a break

  1. Geez I hope the pollen and smoke head out and you are feeling better. I have had a few springs where the pollen just absolutely did me in. Breathe Right strips help when it gets too bad. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.