Back on the horse that threw me

Okay, I think it’s safe to laugh about my horrible race on Sunday. The word “vomit” is funny, right??

Sitting out for the better part of two weeks helped heal my hip, but clearly I traded that for endurance. So now it’s time to double down. My goal race is just over five weeks away, and clearly I have a lot of work to do. Can I go from personal-worst to personal best in five weeks? Can I train hard enough to get there without re-injuring myself in the process?

Well, it won’t happen if I sit around wondering, so on Monday I went to core class. I was surprised that my quads still felt really sore, but I knew the instructor had just run a full marathon the day before so she’d take it easy on the leg stuff. She focused more on upper body and stretching, which was perfect for both of us.

Then last night–still feeling some residual achiness–I joined my training group for a speed workout at the middle school track. We ran two laps at 10K pace, one lap easy, and one lap at 5K pace. Rest, repeat. The second set was definitely harder than the first and my paces were on the slow side, but I really didn’t feel too bad after I’d finished. No worse than when I started, anyway.

Tomorrow is the last day of the semester, so I’m looking forward to having some down time over Winter Break. If you consider the insanity of the holidays, plus applying a renewed focus on training “downtime,” that is. 😉

2 thoughts on “Back on the horse that threw me

  1. Yay! Happy winter break! I was just saying to my husband that I remember being SO excited when it started as a kid. I wouldn’t worry too much about the endurance. Two weeks is pretty minimal and I am certain that after a couple of runs you will be right back where you started. So glad you are back out there!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m thinking endurance was a bit of a factor–I ran 12 miles on November 15 but not more than 6-8 between then and the race. I’m hoping it will bounce back though. Fingers crossed!

      Like

Comments are closed.