On the road again

This has been a whirlwind summer.

After school got out, we had a week to relax, then all three of us took off for Florida. Following about two weeks of recovery time (although we spent a few days at the lake) B and I traveled to Virginia for a long weekend We’ve been back a couple of days, but guess what? On Sunday we head out yet again. This time, our destination is Galveston. Much like last summer, B is attending camp so my dad and I are going to drive him down there, then hang out for the week.

Despite my ambitious summer Rogue training (hellooooo Hill of Doom), I have been feeling clunky and slow the last few weeks. I know that the Texas heat is taking its toll, but let’s be honest: despite the fact that I’ve gone running during all of my travels, I’ve offset those runs with restaurant food, decadence, and a lot of ass-sitting. This past Monday alone, I spent 5.5 hours trapped at National Airport while Southwest Airlines tried to figure out how to get us home. Dinner was Diet Coke and popcorn.

Left: our original plane, on which they discovered wing damage after everyone boarded. Right: the new plane brought in from BWI four hours and one thunderstorm later.

So I’ve decided that while I’m in Galveston, I’m going to run every day. I’m missing my Rogue training, so I’ll focus on re-creating the workouts as best I can on my own. Fortunately, our hotel sits across the street from Galveston’s well-maintained concrete seawall that stretches about ten miles from one end of the island to the other. So I’m packing my running gear.

Beach running is iffy but the seawall is nice, albeit concrete.

Beach running is iffy but the seawall is nice.

The last two summers, we’ve driven the 3+ hours to Galveston for the Sand Crab 5K, a great beach race. This year, the race is scheduled for a weekend in which we have other obligations, so we won’t be able to make it. I’m disappointed because I really like this race. But instead of a race weekend in September, I get a whole week here now, and I’m going to take advantage of it by running every day.

Then I can sit by the hotel pool or on the beach with my Kindle guilt-free.

6 thoughts on “On the road again

  1. Enjoy your time. Isn’t it crazy for those of us that get the summer off you think life will slow down. And sure enough it is more crazy than before summer started!

    Like

  2. Wow, you’ve been busy! I’ve only been to Galveston once, but it was nice. I was near there in the fall in Seabrook (I think). I went for some nice runs along the water there…except for the fish processing plant…that smelled.

    Like

Comments are closed.