It’s now or never

Today was the 30th–and the final–Chuy’s Hot to Trot 5K, so it was with mixed emotions that we lined up down at the end of Lonely Street at the start this morning. Chuy’s was my first 5K back in 2011, and I’ve run it faster every year. The course travels within two blocks of the house I grew up in, so I have all kinds of memories tied to this event and I look forward to it every year. But earlier this spring, Chuy’s announced it would be the final race.

Tomorrow will be too late

Today we were a ragtag crew. Last Sunday I ran a sluggish, humid 10K, and I’d had an exhausting week full of bad eating. I really only ran twice during the week–neither had a whole lotta shakin’ going on. And M is still recovering from a foot injury. He figured he’d try it, but since he hadn’t run in months, he wasn’t expecting much. B woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning and growled at everyone for the first hour he was awake. But the temperature was in the 60s at the start, so it could have been worse.

I ran into a couple of Rogues before the race, and we warmed up together before the five of us walked over to the starting area. Then Elvis blared the starting horn and we were off.

One for the money, two for the show, three to get ready, now go, cat, go!

I  hadn’t gone 25 feet when I dodged my first walkers. I still don’t get why people who know they’re going to walk–they’re wearing blue suede shoes jeans shorts, for crying out loud–line up at the front. But there they were.

The course is mostly flat, with a slight uphill just past the first mile marker that you get back before the mile two marker. The biggest challenge of the third mile is the direction–we run due east, into the sun, and as it’s Texas in May, the earlier 60-degree temperature had left the building. Even so, I ran a textbook negative split, pushing hard that last mile. I fell short of a PR, but my finishing time was by far the fastest I’ve run on this course–I beat last year’s then-PR time by more than three minutes. And it was easily 15 minutes faster than the first time I ran this race. So it was a fitting way to end the series for me.

Thank you. Thank you very much, Chuy’s Hot to Trot 5K. I will remember you fondly.

5 thoughts on “It’s now or never

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun! Congrats on your course PR. I sometimes wonder why there’s races who announce it’s their “last”. Why don’t they keep it going? Why are they ending it? Hopefully there’s a good reason. Great job!

    Like

    • Thanks! They said that it’s not as profitable for their charity as they’d like, for the amount of work that goes into it. They decided to focus on charity year-round in the restaurants.

      Like

  2. Oh that race sounds like so much fun. What a bummer to be the last one. Add me to the list of those who doesn’t get the walkers at the front. Two years ago tomorrow we did a race up Bear Mtn. here in NY. We started near the back because it was our first trail run. Little did we know that the trail would go single file for the first mile and we were behind all the walkers. Our first mile was over 13 minutes. So frustrating. You have my sympathy.

    Like

Comments are closed.