JFR

What gets YOU out the door?

Over the summer, Rogue put out a call for participants in a promotional video they were making. I thought it sounded cool, but I was busy being lazy. I was recovering from a less-than-stellar Cleveland Half Marathon, and I was feeling a bit burned out, maybe a little sorry for myself.

Yeah, I did the Runners World Summer Run Streak, but I never really maintained a solid base distance beyond four or five miles, and even that was iffy. When my current training program began in early September, I kind of felt like I was starting over from square one. D’oh! But I’ve been attending weekly core class, I’ve pushed myself to follow the Level Two training plan instead of the Level One, and I’ve gotten my ass out there when it was hot, when it was freezing cold, in the rain, in the early morning, and after work in the dark.

Yesterday, my friend K said that I sound like I’m in a good headspace, and I think she’s right. I’ve dropped 15 pounds, I feel stronger, I run the hills, and I can run five, six, even ten miles without walk breaks. I’m never going to be fast, but I’ve found ways to improve. Not because I’m an elite athlete, but because I told myself to suck it up–I got out there and did it, even when I didn’t want to, even when it was 23 degrees or 104 degrees.

So I slapped this sticker on my car tonight to remind myself that excuses suck. Just Fucking Run.

IMG_7011

So. What gets YOU out the door?

4 thoughts on “JFR

  1. I love that sticker!! I have to admit that it is nice to not be training for anything right now and I can just run because I want to. At first, I didn’t want to 🙂 but now, I am finding that love again and starting to look at races.
    #JFR

    Like

  2. I think it situational for me, so it varies. But I do keep reminding myself “it’s just a mental game, it’s just a mental game, it’s just a mental game,” and keep running.
    love tis video.

    Like

Comments are closed.