Blog Neglect

I’m sure you’ve been hitting refresh over and over, waiting for a new update. Right?

Sorry. I’ve kept up with my training schedule, but it was one of those weeks where I never got to sit down and organize my thoughts. My brain probably looks a lot like my desk–scattered piles of papers, a half-written quiz, coffee stains. I spent an inordinate amount of time putting together video projects each of my classes created–they’re awesome, but perfecting the final product (times six) is quite time-consuming. Some other aspects of my job frustrated me this week, plus my school has two major deadlines coming up and it’s been hectic around campus. I ate lunch at my desk two or three days–something I almost never do since that 25 minutes is one of the few opportunities I get to rant bounce ideas around with my colleagues.

Still, Monday I went to core class, and Tuesday I had my regular half-marathon training. We ran out to the high school football stadium (1.25 miles) and then ran a three-mile loop. The goal was to run just fast enough you couldn’t carry on a conversation. It was dark by the time we started, and there was a lot of traffic, but the route didn’t require us to cross any streets. The only real obstacle was the deer intestines on the sidewalk, presumably from the deer carcass a few feet away in the grass. Yuck.

I felt like I ran strong, and I was fully prepared to walk back to Rogue as a reward. But everyone else started running and I had no choice but to follow. Damn. My hip flexors were a little sore afterwards, so I went to my sports doc on Wednesday. I’ve also kept up with my foam rolling. Small things that hopefully will keep me healthy through the winter!

Wednesday and Thursday I ran my usual neighborhood loops. Friday was a rest day, and this morning I headed out at 7am for ten miles. It was a bit chilly, overcast, and I felt a few raindrops as I started out. The first 2.5 miles follow the sidewalks to Brushy Creek Sports Park, where it turns to gravel trail. I ran the first five miles straight through, stopping only at a couple of crosswalks and slowing once for water. The trail had some damage from last week’s flooding, so it required a bit more concentration to keep my footing.

Along the way I saw:

  • a cow
  • two Christmas photo shoots–kids in red velour dresses, mini Christmas trees, the whole nine yards
  • a remote-controlled boat zipping around the lake
  • a bunch of Rogues, looking strong!

At the five-mile mark, I turned around and immediately felt tired and sore. I don’t think it was the distance–five miles isn’t generally a problem for me these days–but perhaps my muscles were working a little harder to compensate for the uneven gravel of the trail? I’m not sure, but the trip back was definitely more difficult (and much slower) than the first half.

Coffee, a couple of quesadillas, and football on TV helped recovery, but I definitely felt a bit sore throughout the afternoon. Nothing major–I should be able to manage an easy 20-minute recovery run tomorrow.

Then the whole thing starts over again.

One thought on “Blog Neglect

  1. I love documenting the randomness that you see. Made me laugh out loud to read about the photo shoots (trees and all), reminds me that the season really is upon us!

    Like

Comments are closed.