Weather pattern

For the last couple of weekends, it’s been humid and gross for my long runs on Saturdays, then it magically becomes cooler on Sundays. And this weekend was no exception. So after slogging through ten miserable miles yesterday, second-guessing my ability to complete my race within the time limit, I went out this morning and once again was reminded that cooler weather will indeed have a positive effect on my run.

Texas does extremes well–it’s either drought or flood, I guess. We’ve been in a pretty significant drought the last three years or so, and while the lakes to the west of Austin are still dangerously low, we’ve gotten some heavy rains in the city recently. Last night another storm rolled through, prompting my phone to wake me around midnight with a flash flood alert. It rained all night–some parts of Southwest Austin are reporting almost a foot of rainfall, causing flooding and the cancellation of the last day of ACL.

In my neighborhood we didn’t get that much rain, but when I went out for my recovery run, I saw a lot of front yards that resembled lakes, and a couple of places where low spots had turned into rushing creeks and waterfalls. I only ran for 20 minutes, and the humidity was the same as yesterday, but running in cooler temperatures and a light drizzle helped me maintain a faster, more consistent pace. And let me just say that wet running clothes due to rain are much more pleasant than wet clothes acquired from swampy humidity.

My driveway

My driveway

Speaking of weather, I’m stalking the Washington D.C. weather forecast for next Sunday’s race. It isn’t terribly reliable a week out, but it will at least help me ballpark what to bring for the weekend. Right now I’m planning to pack both a short-sleeved shirt and a long-sleeved one, with capri running tights. And I guess a hat in case of rain. The shirt will probably be a game-time decision, though, based on the current forecast.

70% chance of rain on race day?

70% chance of rain on race day?

I get pretty warm when I run–if it’s sunny, I’ll wear short sleeves as long as it’s warmer than about 50 degrees. The cold wait at the start line sucks, but by the first mile marker I’ll have warmed up and will be fine the rest of the way. But Saturday night’s overnight low is 20 degrees cooler than what I ran in today. I don’t mind warm rain, and I don’t mind dry cold. But this forecast? Does not help. I hope the Magic 8 Ball can clear up some of this confusion as this expedition gets closer.

What’s your race day temperature/weather clothing rule? 

