What a difference a day makes

Yesterday’s run started about 8:30am–it was almost 80 degrees and sunny, with 90% humidity. Swampy. And miserable. Afterwards I spent some quality time with the foam roller, but even two hours later my legs still felt sore and tired. Then we stayed out late last night (three words: high school reunion) and slept late this morning. So it was 11am when I thought about my scheduled recovery run.

And then I walked outside.

It had rained on and off all night–we’d gotten doused getting from the bar (of course my class held its reunion at a bar) to the car–and it was still drizzling a bit this morning. But it was no more than 65 degrees. Such a difference from yesterday’s conditions!

I was only supposed to run for 20 minutes, but the temperature was so nice and I found a good rhythm so I ended up going a bit longer and faster. Even if it didn’t do much for my overall training, it helped return my state of mind to something more positive, that’s for sure.

I have two more long-run Saturdays before the Army 10-Miler. I’m thinking of trying for seven on Saturday and nine the following Saturday. The longest I’ve done since July is six–does that seem like a reasonable plan?

4 thoughts on “What a difference a day makes

  1. I’m with you on state of mind. It is so important. You have to believe you can do it. I read somewhere that when you increase mileage you shouldn’t add more than 10% to your long runs. Mid training for my recent half marathon I did an 8 mile, 8 mile, 10 mile (across three weekend long runs) and the 10 mile left me aching horribly (it hurt during the last mile too so I even knew it was too hard and did it anyway). It was the longest before the half marathon and I panicked that I was in recovery, and tired, before the race. It all ended up OK, but on reflection I think I should have increased more slowly during training, and listened to my body! I reckon, you’ll know what you can do when you are out there.

    Like

    • Yeah, I agree about the 10% thing. My rationale is that I’m not completely new to this and have run 8+ within the last 2.5 months. But I’ll certainly adjust based on how I feel on Saturday so I don’t overdo it. Thanks for the reminder!

      Like

Comments are closed.