Mostly dead all day

This year, I teach six classes of about 165 seventh-graders. I say that not to scare you or impress you, but to help you understand why I haven’t written much since I went back to work. I’ve been mostly dead all day.

So in the immortal words of Inigo Montoya, “Let me ‘splain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.”

  • After last Thursday’s run, I had a weird pain in the ball of my foot, sort of under my second toe. I taped it for a day, then skipped Saturday’s long(ish) run and slept in.
  • Sunday I ran the three-mile neighborhood loop and my foot felt okay. but it was really hot and humid. Still better than whatever was going on at the house with the ambulance and police cars I passed at mile 2.5, though.
  • Monday school started. The first week, I spend so much time talking and walking around, trying to strike the right balance between welcoming and no-nonsense, funny and demanding, while teaching them all my little quirky procedures. Oh and learning their names. It’s no battle in the Fire Swamp,  but it’s a challenge, one that gets more difficult for me every year.
  • Tuesday I ran the neighborhood loop, this time with no weird foot pain. But my Garmin was acting up again–even though it hadn’t been on the charger in a while, it still showed 99% charged. Didn’t go up or down no matter what I did. But it worked okay for my three-miler. Afterward, however, I turned it on and started the timer, then set it on the table. I figured when the battery ran all the way down, perhaps it would reset whatever had gone wonky. It seems to have worked, at least for now.
  • Our Galveston beach race is just over a week away, and I am woefully unprepared. Barring intervention from the likes of Miracle Max, it’s gonna be pretty embarrassing.

But the good news is that It just so happens that your friend here is only MOSTLY dead. There’s a big difference between mostly dead and all dead. Mostly dead is slightly alive. So tomorrow I will lace up the new shoes and try again. Anything less would be inconceivable!

3 thoughts on “Mostly dead all day

Comments are closed.