Weekend update

Here are tonight’s top stories.

Last Saturday, B and I completed the Running Mad 13.1 event. For the next three days we used the race as an excuse to eat and be lazy, not necessarily in that order. I’m pretty sure Saturday’s enchilada was the size of my forearm. And I skipped Monday’s core class. Really? Really.

I planned to run a couple of miles on Tuesday, but that morning I woke up with a sharp pain just behind my right shoulder blade. I don’t know what I’m doing in my sleep that I keep waking up with weird back pain, but there it is. Wednesday I went to my sports chiro with good news and bad news. The good news was that I completed 13.1 with no hip flexor pain, nothing beyond typical soreness due to the distance. The bad news? The shoulder thing. He worked on both, and Wednesday evening I took a short run around the neighborhood.

We’ve had a remarkably mild summer so far–in 2011 we had 90 days in which the temperatures climbed over 100*. This year so far we’ve had somewhere around 10-12 days. And it rained. In July. Not only that, it rained on us for half of our Running Mad 13.1 race. Go home, Weather Gods. You’re drunk.

Alas, the Weather Gods sobered up, with a vengeance.

Last night I couldn’t decide whether to get up early and run or sleep in and go later in the evening. I don’t know why this is even a question–everyone knows if given the option I’m going to sleep in.

But procrastination bit me in the ass. Some dinner plans fell into our laps and getting in an evening run suddenly got tougher. So at 11am, I headed over to Brushy Creek Regional Trail, thinking it would  be pretty shady and not too miserably hot. Yeah, I really thought that.

What I discovered is that when the sun is directly overhead, it doesn’t make a whole lot of shade.

I ran most of the first two miles out, and I walked most of the last two miles back. Really? Really. It was hot.

That’s Weekend Update, everyone. Good night.

2 thoughts on “Weekend update

Comments are closed.