The groundhog lied

On Tuesday, huge thunderstorms rolled through Austin and my training was canceled. Wednesday was still drizzly and unpleasant, so when the sun came out today, I knew I’d need to get in four or five miles on the trails during my son’s lacrosse practice.

IMG_5074The temperature was in the 50s (completely bizarre for April–clearly not what Punxsutawney Phil predicted)  and winds kicked up little waves in the puddles left over from the rains. The normally-stagnant creek that runs through the complex even had water running through it.

I left my water bottle in my car this time, so whenever I passed it I stopped for water. Unlocking the car took more time than just grabbing the bottle, but I didn’t want a repeat of the Case of the Missing Water Bottle either.

For the first 3.5 miles I listened to last week’s hilarious episode of Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me–at one point I know I laughed out loud… something about Microsoft, condoms, and virus protection.

IMG_5072On the far end of the eastbound trail, rains had filled up a retaining pond, a nice change from the barren spaces that have been devastated by drought in recent years.

I felt great through four miles and decided to go for five. I switched to music, turned up the volume, and ran out to the lake for the second time. I figured I’d run back to my car and that should get me to five.

Clearly I suck at estimating distance, because I heard my Garmin beep a bit sooner than I expected. I wanted to stop at the nice round number, but I forced myself to push on, to tackle that last set of short hills down and up the creek bank. I ended up with 5.28, just in time to meet B in the parking lot, done with practice.

