Echo station 3-T-8, we have spotted Imperial walkers

I didn’t want to get up at 6:15 this morning. But I did.

I didn’t want to run Heely Sonova in the cold. But I did.

And after the first mile when I still felt slow and sluggish and leaden, I accepted that it was going to be one of those days.

I was cold, under-caffeinated, and tired. Sitting at the Starbucks sounded WAY more appealing than running. My calves ached, probably because I’m still adjusting to the new shoes. But I ran with a partner today, which is new for me, and having someone distract me with chatter and playlist comparisons kept pushing me along. I’d loosely planned to run five miles–this spared us the worst of Heely Sonova, although when we improvised after three miles, our new route cut the distance by half a mile and added another hill. We ended up with 5.5–yes, I worked for that extra half-mile, people.

The whole run, every step was tough. But I told myself to suck it up, shut up, and power through. And even though I probably looked like a Star Wars AT-AT out there, I didn’t let myself walk that last Park Street hill. I didn’t exactly speed up it, but I didn’t walk either. At least I fared better than the AT-ATs in the Battle of Hoth, although I admit I was worried about tripping on those little road bumps on the ramps at each curb.

Perhaps I will be lazy the rest of the day.

Picture via starwars5.com

 

