“It’s 0600 hours. What does the “0” stand for? O my God, it’s early!”

I’m not a morning person.

One of my favorite things about summer vacation is sleeping late–without an alarm, I get up about 2.5 hours later during the summer than I do during the school year. Saturday morning runs at 6:30 are tolerable because I’m able to sleep in the remaining six days of the week. But when I go back to work, those days become inverted. Thus the quote from Good Morning Vietnam is a running joke in my house–once my synapses start firing in the proper sequence and I can recall movie quotes with relative accuracy, anyway.

There’s a lot about my job I really enjoy, but getting up early is not one of them. So I am not excited about the prospect of going back to work next week. And I’m struggling with my IT band injury and gradually getting back into running. I was elated on Thursday when I ran for 20 pain-free minutes, but yesterday’s run was so sluggish and pathetic, I feel like I’m gonna have to start over from square one with my training. I tried to work on speed this summer, and it got me exactly nowhere–and now summer is just about over. I’m trying to make smart decisions and take things slowly, but I’m an instant-gratification kind of girl and I’m frustrated with my progress, or lack thereof, right now.

So along with healing  my knee, I also have to work on changing the dialogue in my head. In many ways, that’s more difficult than physical rehab, but I already tried having a pity party and that didn’t work. So … it’s time to remind myself that I have improved so much over the last three years. Yeah, I’ve had a little setback with the knee, but it seems to be healed now. I have a plan to get back on that improvement train–it just won’t happen the way I originally intended. I have to accept that. Besides, there are bigger problems in the world than mine.

So until next time, Nanu Nanu.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Negative inner dialogue is so much more damaging than a physical injury, not just for running but life in general. I became a morning person in college because I had a 7:45 class every semester and now I have to get my runs in before everybody wakes up. And your perspective on injuries is refreshing.

    Reply
    • Oh I had the occasional 8:00 class in college, but I avoided them whenever possible. I get up early now out of necessity, but it’s never gotten any easier. Blah.

      Reply
  2. I have a really easy time waking up early and I actually love it… but I can imagine how it would be difficult for people that are not so naturally inclined. I’m also an instant gratification person, and I know how hard it is to start from scratch again, hang in there!

    Reply
    • Thanks! My kid is a natural early bird (although we shall see what the teen years bring) and I don’t understand how he’s so cheerful so early. ;)

      Reply
  3. Mornings SUCK..that is all. I get up at 5 am every day because it’s easier to keep a habit than to form one; now that I am getting serious about my fall training, it will help me get those back-to-back weekend runs done.
    I completely sympathize with having to start over – doing the same thing myself, and it’s uber hard to keep from getting discouraged. But you are ONE TOUGH COOKIE, I know you can do anything you set your mind – and heart – towards doing.

    Reply
  4. LOL, the title is hilarious. I’m really sad about RW. I’m with you about not being a morning person. But I’ve become one out of necessity – I don’t like it, but gotta do it. Some of my crazy friends meet at 5am. blergh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

