The verdict is in

I ran yesterday.

And nothing hurt.

It was the hottest day so far this year in Austin, and I only ran for 20 minutes. But it was the best run I’ve had in a while. Not because of my pace or my distance or any other metric. Just because I got to do it.

IMG_1934.JPG

My goal was 20 minutes–distance didn’t matter.

But it’s not like I’m going to go do something crazy like run a half-marathon this weekend or anything.

Run being the operative word.

Some friends plan to walk the 13.1 miles, and I will probably walk with them. I don’t want to get too cocky and injure myself again, but I really want to get back out there.

As for B, even after we found out the route is different from last summer’s event, he decided that he wants to run the course alone, at his own pace. I’ve always encouraged him to be independent, so I’m not really surprised by his choice. We reviewed the map and course markings, and we talked about how to identify people he can ask for help. Then, because I’ve seen news stories recently about parents who got arrested for leaving kids unattended in public, I even asked him what he would do if someone asked where his parents are. He immediately said, “I’d point out that my mom is a few minutes behind me.” I offered to drive the course in advance, but he just rolled his eyes and said, “No, I’m perfectly capable of following the map.” All righty then.

It’s not the same as running it together, but I don’t want to hold him back if he’s capable of more, you know? Guess¬†I’m not the only¬†overachiever in this family. ;)

Now if you’ll excuse me , I have some celebrating foam rolling to do.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Nothing feels so great as those first few runs post injury. Doesn’t matter how short or slow. They feel so freaking good! So glad you are easing back into it!

    Reply
  2. So awesome that you are getting back into the game,,,hurray for you!! I’m getting back into the game as well, but not from an injury…from a serious attack of overwork-itis :) which hit me less than 90 days before my 1:45-goal half-marathon. I have re-written my training plan, so now ALL I have to do is stick to it; yeah, that’s all ;)

    Have fun walking your half…without the pressure, who knows what you might notice along the way? I’ll be expecting lots of pictures!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Good luck to you with your revised plan–90 days huh? I’m about to start back to work and know it’s going to exhaust me. Yarg!

      Reply
      • Exhaustion is in the way you receive it… I live on the ragged edge most of the time anyway… It takes 60-hour weeks to break me :)
        Cherish every run, because those are the most freedom we ever have from the worries of the world!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

