Foggy

If I were on Jeopardy, I’d describe today’s run in the form of a question:

clueYep, foggy.

I got home from Washington D.C. on Tuesday night, then went to work Wednesday and training Wednesday night. At the track we ran Straights and Curves, but differently than I’ve done it in the past. We ran the straights normally, then turned around and ran the curves BACKWARD. So for each lap, that meant turning around four times. I managed this successfully until partway through the sixth lap when I turned front-to-back and tweaked my right knee. I felt stabbing pain for about five seconds, during which time I wondered if I had done something really stupid. But the pain faded a bit and I continued with the backward section, albeit at a walk. It felt funky but not seriously painful, and I finished the workout in one piece. Although I felt sore in muscles I didn’t know I had, which didn’t make core class any easier the next day.

Needless to say, I haven’t had a lot of sleep this week. I crashed early Friday night but didn’t sleep well, and the alarm was NOT my friend this morning. I think the day before the Austin half was the last time I got to sleep past 7 AM–every subsequent day has involved wake-up calls at times that began with a five or earlier. Today’s 6:15 alarm, I suppose, qualified as sleeping in, all things considered. But I’m trying to get back into my routine, and skipping my Saturday run isn’t in the cards. So I dutifully dragged my sorry, tired ass to Rogue this morning, glad I only had six miles on the schedule.

I watched the sunrise as I drove, mostly on auto-pilot. Oddly, the temperature kept dropping, and by the time I started my run, it was easily 10 degrees cooler than what had been forecast. And then the fog rolled in. As we ran back out the road I’d driven 20 minutes before, the scenery had completely changed. Gone was the sunrise and emerging blue sky. Everything was obscured by fog.

IMG_7591

Which was a perfect metaphor for my life at this moment. My brain felt foggy and my legs struggled to move as the fog dropped its soft-focus filter on the world.

By the end of my six miles, much of the fog had turned to drizzle. I felt sore, like I’d run much farther than six, and I wondered how the hell I’d finished the Austin half marathon in my goal time just two weeks previously. But I guess it’s the crappy runs that make a person appreciate the good ones, and sometimes muddling through under less-than-ideal circumstances is a lesson in itself.

The morning fog is burning off, and I’ve had some coffee to help organize my brain synapses in some kind of coherent firing pattern. So for Final Jeopardy, I’ll take Swords for $400, Alex.

Oh wait. Well, I have plenty of s-words too. First one: sleep.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. We had fog this morning but it burned off quickly. I was a sweaty mess only a mile into my run. I overdressed (for once) but that won’t be the case tomorrow. Stupid Texas weather.
    Hang in there. The brain fog will lift eventually and a bad run usually means that there is a good one right around the corner :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

